CPL to host inaugural women’s T20 tourney

Ricky Skerrit
Cricket West Indies President, Ricky Skerritt.
Cricket West Indies
The Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and Cricket West Indies (CWI) announced last week that the 2022 CPL will feature a women’s T20 tournament with three franchise teams competing for the first-ever WCPL title, playing alongside the men’s tournament starting in August.
It was revealed that the teams competing in the inaugural WCPL are Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors and Trinidad and Tobago Knight Riders (TKR), with the teams set to showcase the best female cricketers from the Caribbean, with overseas stars complementing the teams.
CWI President Ricky Skerrit said the initative falls in line with one of CWI’s strategic priorities for West Indian women and girls to get involved in the sport.
“We are delighted that we have been able to partner with CPL to further the expansion plans that we had first unveiled in 2019 prior to the arrival of the COVID-19 pandemic” he said.
CPL’s CEO Pete Russell said that on the heels of a successful Women’s T10 Challenge that took place during the 2019 CPL, tournament organizers were looking forward to the next step with the WCPL.
The women’s tournament will take place during the men’s event inside the 2022 Hero CPL tournament window which will run from Aug. 30 to Sept. 30.
The 10th edition will be played across five moe countries this year, with three Caribbean countries selected for the group stages and the fourth venue being chosen for the finals.

More from Around NYC