Inaugural Women’s CPL has been launched

West Indies Stafanie Taylor
West Indies Stafanie Taylor plays a shot during their ICC Women’s Twenty20 Cricket World Cup semifinal match against Australia in Dhaka, Bangladesh.
Associated Press / Aijaz Rahi, File
Carrbbean Premier League (CPL) has launched its inaugural 2022 Women T20 which will be played at Warner Park, St. Kitts from Aug. 31 during the first week of the 2022 CPL.
The announcement was made at a news conference at the Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain to where it was disclosed that the Massy Group in Trinidad would be sponsoring the 2022 WCPL.
Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) women’s vice captain Anisa Mohamed described the opportunity to play in the inaugural tournament as a dream come true, saying it would develop the game in the region.
The Massy Women’s CPL will feature three teams -— Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors and TKR.
The teams will be captained by Haley Matthews (Barbados Royal), Stafanie Taylor, (Guyana Amazon Warriors) and Deandra Dottin (TKR).
The matches will be carried live on television.

More from Around NYC