IPL retains only three West Indies cricketers

Former West Indies' Captain Kieron Pollard
Former West Indies’ Captain Kieron Pollard gestures during the third One-Day International cricket match between Sri Lanka and West Indies in Pallekele, Sri Lanka, Sunday, March 1, 2020.
Associated Press/Eranga Jayawardena/File
The Indian Premier League (IPL) has retained only three West Indies cricketers for the 2022 edition franchise when the window closed recently.
Trinidad and Tobago Kieron Pollard was retained by Mumbai Indians, while Sunil Narine also from Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaican Andre Russell were both retained by Kolkata Knight Riders.
Pollard, is the West Indies T20 captain and 50 overs captain.
West Indies Sunil Narine.  Action Images / Paul Harding

The West Indies players released by their respective teams were Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings), Nicholas Pooran (Punjab Kings) and Chris Gayle (Punjab Kings).

Teams were only allowed to  retain a maximum of four players from their previous squads.
Some of the other West Indian players who competed in the 2011 IPL were Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Fabien Allen and Evin Lewis.
The tournament is expected to bowl off in April next year.

More from Around NYC