CPL’s tourney team

CPL’s tourney team|CPL’s tourney team
West Indies’ batsman Kieron Pollard.
Associated Press / Rob Griffith

The Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) has announced the team of tournament, which recently ended in Trinidad with Barbados Tridents taking the title for a second time.

Pakistani Shoaib Malik, who successfully led the Guyana Amazon Warrior to a record 11 straight victories, was named captain.

He is joined by fellow Amazon Warriors, Brandon King and Imran Tahir, who both played an integral part in the Guyana franchise’s record breaking tournament.

The sole representative from the Jamaica Tallawahs’ Glen Phillips (374 runs) also received the nod as the wicketkeeper for the team.

The Trinbago Knight Riders have two players in the team Lendl Simmons and Kieron Pollard.

Simmons was a last replacement in the Knight Riders but he did a superb job as an opener.

Pollard got the captaincy after Dwayne Bravo pulled out of the tournament through injury and led from the front with the bat and ball.

The Barbados Tridents have three players who made the team, Jason Holder, Harry Gurney and Hayden Walsh Jnr.

There were two other players in the team representing St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots-Fabien Allen and Sheldon Cottrell.

The team was selected by Tom Moody, Hero CPL’s director, along with the commentary team of March Butcher, Danny Morrison, Dirk Nanes, and Ian Bishop.

Pakistan’s Shoaib Malik named CPL tourney captain.
Associated Press / Rui Vieira

More from Around NYC