CWI reform task force

University of the West Indies Vice-Chancellor, Hilary Beckles.|
Photo by George Alleyne

Cricket West Indies (CWI) has announced the formation of a Governance Task Force and a Selection Task Force to help in its reform.

A five-member Governance Task Force and the six-member Selection Task Force have been appointed to review and implement reform of the organization’s governance and the outdated system of team selections.

Jamaican businessman and Senator, Don Wehby has been selected to chair the Governance Task Force, which also includes Sir Hilary Beckles, Vice-Chancellor of UWI; Charles Wilkin QC of St. Kitts & Nevis; Jamaican entrepreneur, OK Melhado and former Trinidad and West Indies cricketer, Deryck Murray.

CWI President, Ricky Skerritt said the composition of the committees include variety of stakeholder interests. He said more than 50 percent of the total committee membership were independent of the traditional cricket fraternity, originating from 11 different Caribbean countries.

Skerritt said there remains one more task force to be assembled later this year.

President of Cricket West Indies, Ricky Skerritt.
Cricket West Indies