Five West Indies players for IPL

Five West Indies players for IPL|Five West Indies players for IPL
Barbadian Dwayne Smith.
AP Photo/Themba Hadebe

Five West Indies players including Twenty20 and Test captain Darren Sammy are to play in the 2014 Indian Premier League (IPL).

Barbadian Dwayne Smith commanded US$750,000 to move to Chennai Super Kings from Mumbai Indians, while Sammy was bought for US$533,000 and returned to Sunrise Hyderabad.

West Indies fast bowler Ravi Rampaul who was purchased for US$150,000 also returned to his 2013 team, Royal Challengers Bangalore, while Barbadian seamer Jason Holder will get a stint at a new team, Sunrisers at a cost of US$125,000.

The other West Indies players retained were Dwayne Bravo by Chennai, Sunil Narine by Kolkata Knight Riders and Kieron Pollard by Mumbai Indians. They were not auctioned because they hold contracts.

Explosive Jamaican opener Chris Gayle was retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Indian cricketer Yuraj Singh was bought for a record US$2.33 million while his compatriot Dinesh Karthik earned UDS$2.08 million.

West Indies’ Darren Sammy bowls during the Tri-Nation Series cricket match against India in Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, Friday, July 5, 2013.
AP Photo/Andres Leighton

More from Around NYC