ICC Test Team

ICC Test Team
AP Photo/Tom Hevezi

Veteran left-hander Shivnarine Chanderpaul has been named in the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) Test Team of the Year, the only West Indies player included in the 12-man squad.

Chanderpaul, 38, who averages 50 from 144 Tests, was included following his fine form that culminated in his rise to the number one batsman in the ICC rankings back in April.

He has since slipped to number three.

The squad is captained by Australian Michael Clarke and also comprises The South African pair of Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis, and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara for the third straight year.

“The team once again has a strong batting line-up, while the bowlers are a tough combination of pace and spin who could dismiss any line-up on any surface,” said legendary former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd.

“The process of selection was a difficult one, with a lengthy debate between the panel on all the top performances during the voting period and various combinations were considered.

“In the panel’s expert opinion, it has selected the best team based on performances over the past 12 months,” he said.

The panel also included former West Indies captain and the stylish batsman Carl Hooper.

During the period under preview – Aug. 4, 2011 to Aug. 6, 2012 – Chanderpaul scored 975 runs in 11 Tests at an average of 65 and struck two centuries.

Chanderpaul has 25 Test centuries, one behind the incomparable Sir Garfield Sobers and nine behind the prodigious Brian Lara.

The squad:

Michael Clarke (Australia, captain), Alastair Cook (England), Hashim Amla (South Africa), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies), Matt Prior (England, wicket-keeper), Stuart Broad (England), Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan), Vernon Philander (South Africa) Dale Steyn (South Africa), 12th Man – AB de Villiers.