West Indies' Kieron Pollard plays a shot during the third One-Day International cricket match between Sri Lanka and West Indies in Pallekele, Sri Lanka, Sunday, March 1, 2020.
Associated Press/ Eranga Jayawardena, file

Mumbai Indians recently clinched their record fifth Indian Premier League (IPL) title with relatively-comfortable five-wicket win over Delhi Capitals at the Dubai International Stadium in Dubai, United Arab Emirates (UAE).

West Indies Twenty20 Captain, Kieron Pollard and left-handed West Indies batsman, Shimron Hetmyer failed to make an impact in the final game, but Pollard’s team did enough to lift the trophy.

Pollard told reporters: “It’s great feeling, I’ve been here 11 years, fifth trophy. No one see the planning and training. It’s pressure playing for a franchise like this.”

Pollard also lifted the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) trophy as captain of the Trinbago Knight Riders and was at the helm of the West Indies team when they defeated Sri Lanka 2-0 in their last T20 series before the COVID-19 pandemic.

India’s Rohit Sharma in action against Sri Lanka in Headingley, Leeds, Britain on July 6, 2019. Action Images via Reuters / Lee Smith, file

Pollard and Hetmyer both fell for single-figure scores before Mumbai, powered by a run-a-ball 68 from Captain Rohit Sharma clinched the title.

Delhi, opting to bat first, reached 156 for seven from their allotted 20 overs, with Hetmyer making just five runs. Captain Shreyas Iyer and 56 (38 balls) from fellow India’s Rishabh Pant, both put on 96 for the fourth wicket. Delhi’s innings ran into turbulence on 22 for three in the fourth over. Pant and Hetymer, however, were two of the fourth wickets Delhi lost inside the last six overs for just 38 runs.

Trent Boult was the most successful Mumbai bowler taking three for 30 from his four overs.

Mumbai Indians chased down the 156 score with five wickets to spare and became the second team to win back-to-back titles after Chennai Super Kings achieved the feat in 2010 and 2011.

More from Around NYC