Shallow, Bassarath elected CWI president and vice president

Cricket West Indies President, Dr. Kishore Shallow.
Cricket West Indies

Dr. Kishore Shallow and Azim Bassarath have been elected to the posts of president and vice president, respectively, of Cricket West Indies (CWI), according to  

It said they will serve two-year terms. said the election process was conducted as one of the key items on the agenda of the 24th Annual General Meeting of CWI, which was held on Saturday, Mar. 25 at the Coolidge Cricket Ground in Antigua.

“On behalf of Cricket West Indies, I sincerely thank the outgoing President Ricky Skerritt for his latest contribution to our beloved cricket,” said Vincentian-born Shallow. “He has served with distinction and pride in one of the most challenging periods in our lifetime, the COVID-19 pandemic. His tenure has certainly moved us in the right direction.

“The resounding vote of confidence demonstrated by the shareholders is heartening,” he added. “My profound gratitude to them and all the stakeholders for supporting me throughout the electoral process.

“As I embark on this new role with Vice President Bassarath, there is no delusion about the considerable workload,” Dr. Shallow continued. “My philosophy remains one of unity and inclusivity. For it is only if we pool our resources and efforts together will West Indies cricket make any meaningful advancement as a cricket nation.”

Bassarath said: “It is indeed an honor to be elected to serve as the vice president of Cricket West Indies, and I look forward to working alongside Dr. Shallow and the other members of the Board of Directors, as we continue the good work done by Mr. Skerritt for the benefit of everyone involved in West Indies Cricket.”

In addition to the election for president and vice president, said the following persons were duly elected as member directors of CWI: Jason King and Conde Riley – Barbados Cricket Association; Bissoondyal Singh and

Deleep Singh – Guyana Cricket Board; Dr. Donovan Bennett and Wilford Heaven – Jamaica Cricket Association;

Enoch Lewis and Leon Rodney – Leeward Islands Cricket Board; Kerwin John and Arjoon Ramlal – Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board; and Dwain Gill and Carol Henry – Windward Islands Cricket Board.