Trinbago wins CPL opener

Trinbago wins CPL opener
West Indies’ Denesh Ramdin plays a shot during their second Twenty20 cricket match with Sri Lanka, in Colombo, Sri Lanka, Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2015.
Associated Press / Eranga Jayawardena, File

New Zealander Colin Munro and Denesh Ramdin blasted half centuries in steering defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders to an emphatic 100-run victory over the St. Lucia Stars in the opening game of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) Wednesday night at the Queens Park Oval in Trinidad and Tobago.

Munro hit 68 and Ramdin an unbeaten 50 in the Trinbago Knight Riders’ 195-6 in the Twenty-20 affair.

The Knight Riders’ 195 was the highest total ever at the Oval in the CPL six-year history.

Under their new captain, Kieron Pollard, the St. Lucia Stars, formerly the St. Lucia Zouks, were no match for the Knight Riders, as Munro and Ramdin took them to the sword.

Only Pollard (2-22) and Kesrick Williams (2-28) sought to restrict the rampaging Knight Riders before their ebullient home crowd.

The Stars were also guilty of very sloppy fielding and drop catches, which contributed immensely to their demise.

Captain Dwayne Bravo (3-11) and Fawad (3-19) put the brakes on any Stars’ aggression. The latter could only muster 95, with Andre Fletcher top-scoring with 19.

In Match 2, Guyana Amazon Warriors will take on St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots (Aug. 9) – 10.30 pm; in Match 3, Trinbago Knight Riders will confront Jamaica Tallawahs (Aug. 11) — 12.30 am; and in Match 4, Guyana Amazon Warriors will oppose St. Lucia Stars (Aug. 11) — 8.30 pm.

On Aug. 12, Trinbago Knight Riders will duel with St Kitts & Nevis Patriots in Match 5 — 12.30 am; and, in Match 6, Guyana Amazon Warriors will battle with the Barbados Tridents — 10.30 pm.

More from Around NYC