Two West Indies cricket legends awarded knighthoods

Two West Indies cricket legends awarded knighthoods|Two West Indies cricket legends awarded knighthoods
West Indies cricket legend Clive Lloyd.
Associated Press / Matt Dunham

Two West Indies legendary cricketers, Clive Lloyd and along with former batting star Gordon Greenidge, have been awarded Knighthoods in the Queen’s New Year Honor list.

Lloyd, 75, a Guyanese, who captained the West Indies in World Cup triumphs in 1995 and 1979, was last Friday honored for his “services to cricket development of sport” on the overseas list.

Greenidge, meanwhile, a 68-year-old former opening batsman, has been conferred with the Order of St. Michael and St. George Knight Commander for “services to cricket and the development of the sport,” on the list.

Lloyd, who will now be known as Sir Clive, was credited for moulding the West Indies side of the late 1970s and early 1980s into a dominant force in world cricket.

Following his playing career, Lloyd served as West Indies team manager and also held prominent roles with the International Cricket Council as a match referee and as a member of their cricket committee.

More recently, he served as chairman of the West Indies selectors up until three years ago.

Greenidge made his debut in 1974 in a side captained by Lloyd and went on to become one of the game’s finest openers in a legendary partnership with fellow Barbadian Desmond Haynes.

A century in either inning of the 1976 Old Trafford Test and a double hundreds on the 1984 tour of England served as highlights of a heralded career. All told, Greenidge scored 7558 runs at an average of 44 with 19 centuries.

He was knighted on the recommendation of the Barbados government. Greenidge served a spell as Bangladesh’s head coach and as a West Indies selector.

West Indian former cricketer Gordon Greenidge.
Associated Press / Lefteris Pitarakis

More from Around NYC