West Indies Cricketer of the Year

West Indies Cricketer of the Year|West Indies Cricketer of the Year
Jamaican Marlon Samuels.
AP Photo/Andres Leighton, file
AP Photo/Andres Leighton, file

Middle-order batsman, Jamaican, Marlon Samuels has been named West Indies Cricketer of the Year at the inaugural awards ceremony, which was jointly hosted by the country’s cricket board (WICB) and the West Indies Players’ Association (WIPA) held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, Port of Spain recently.

Samuels was also named West Indies One-Day International Player of the Year for his performances in the year 2012 when he scored 482 runs at an average of 32.13 with two centuries including a score of 126.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul, the current number one ranked batsman in Tests, was declared West Indies Test Match Player of the Year. The award was accepted on his behalf by current West Indies Test captain Darren Sammy.

Chanderpaul, who has scored 987 runs at an average of 98.70 with three hundreds and five 50s, is currently involved in this year’s English county season.

Number one ranked off-spinner Sunil Narine emerged as the winner of the West Indies Twenty20 Player of the Year award with his 16 wickets at an average 16.87 at an economy rate of 6.16. He took match best figures of four for 12.

West Indies emerging cricketer of the year award was given to Kieran Powell.

West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) President Dave Cameron said he was extremely delighted and proud to have joined efforts with WIPA to host the function.

Winners at the awards were: West Indies Twenty20 Cricketer of the Year – Sunil Narine: West Indies ODI Cricketer of the Year Marlon Samuels; West Indies Cricketer of the Year – Shivnarine Chanderpaul; West Indies Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Kieran Powell: West Indies Women Cricketer of the- Stafanine Taylor; Caribbean Twenty20 Cricketer of the Year – Krishmar Santokie.

West Indies’ Shivnarine Chanderpaul.
AP Photo/A.M. Ahad

More from Around NYC