Adams honors over 40 Brooklyn detectives

Adams honors over 40 Brooklyn detectives
Brooklyn BP’s Office / Stefan Ringel

Brooklyn Borough President Eric L. Adams on Thursday recognized more than 40 detectives from police precincts across the borough at an awards ceremony in the courtroom of Brooklyn Borough Hall.

Joined by their families, honored detectives were cited for outstanding work they have performed as part of their duties, including past and present cases that in total have resulted in thousands of arrests.

Adams — joined by members of New York Police Department (NYPD) leadership and Con Edison, which joined him in co-sponsoring the ceremony — highlighted the vital role that detectives play in ensuring Brooklyn’s public safety.

“Detective work is more than ‘Law and Order’-like glamour; it is a difficult pursuit of criminals that closes cases and brings closure for communities impacted by crime,” Adams said. “As a veteran of New York’s Finest, I salute all of Brooklyn’s detectives and express gratitude, on behalf of all Brooklynites, for the sacrifices they and their families make every day to make our borough a safer place to raise healthy children and families.”

Assistant Chief Patrick Conry, commander of Detective Borough Command Brooklyn, said he was “extremely grateful to Borough President Adams for recognizing these dedicated detectives who went beyond their call of duty to investigate serious crimes in the borough of Brooklyn and continue to keep it safe.”

“Con Edison is relied upon for powering the city, detectives are relied upon for providing justice for the city, and our commonality is providing security for Brooklynites and New Yorkers,” said William Washington, general manager for electric operations at Con Edison.

Brooklyn South detective honorees were: Brian Ramos of the 60th Precinct in Coney Island; Sherwin Ifill of the 61st Precinct in Sheepshead Bay; Michael O’Halloran of the 62nd Precinct in Bensonhurst; Louis Pepe and Daniel Young of the 63rd Precinct in Flatlands; Anthony Carreira and James Dawson of the 66th Precinct in Borough Park; Carl McLaughlin of the 67th Precinct in East Flatbush; James Hemmer of the 68th Precinct in Bay Ridge; Sandra Richard of the 69th Precinct in Canarsie; and Brian Lukowsky of the 70th Precinct in Kensington.

Others were: Frank Miceli of the 71st Precinct in Crown Heights; John Burchette of the 72nd Precinct in Greenwood Heights; Daniel Bonilla and Edwin Cesario of the 76th Precinct in Carroll Gardens; Michael Furia of the 78th Precinct in Prospect Heights; and Michael Gaynor, James Normile and Lorraine Winters of the Brooklyn South Homicide Squad.

Brooklyn North detective honorees were: Erick Parks and John Ulmer of the 73rd Precinct in Brownsville; Patty Angst and Renzo Silva of the 75th Precinct in East New York; Adam McLawhorn of the 77th Precinct in Crown Heights; Michael Egan and Willie Johnson of the 79th Precinct in Bedford-Stuyvesant; Donald Lamanque and Mike Jimenez of the 81st Precinct in Bedford-Stuyvesant; Louis Doria and Edward Paszel of the 83rd Precinct in Bushwick; James Hunter of the 84th Precinct in Downtown Brooklyn; and Andre Parker and Joseph Whiteman of the 88th Precinct in Clinton Hill.

Others were: Christopher Scarry and Kenneth Wieber of the 90th Precinct in Williamsburg; Anthony Gonzalez and Jessica Lopez of the 94th Precinct in Greenpoint; and Tommy Handley and Mark Mathis of the Brooklyn North Homicide Squad.

Additionally, Adams presented awards to Deputy Inspector John Lewis of Brooklyn South Detective Operations, Captain Jason Savino of Brooklyn North Detective Operations, Lieutenant James Doherty of the 90th Precinct in Williamsburg, and Police Officer Alejandro Manzano of the 76th Precinct in Carroll Gardens.