Aussies remain favorites for Twenty20 World Cup

Aussies remain favorites for Twenty20 World Cup
Australia’s David Warner turns the ball down leg against New Zealand in the third and deciding One-Day international cricket match at Seddon Park in Hamilton, New Zealand, Monday, Feb. 8, 2016.
Associated Press / SNPA / Ross Setford

Despite India’s top showing in the three-match Twenty20 series with Australia, the Aussies are still strong and filled with confidence that their squad can win the 2016 series. Team Australia has a strong batting side but the players have to be well regulated in their batting order. Shane Watson and David Warner must be the starters for Australia.

Watson has played more than 190 One-Day Internationals, 59 Test matches and more than 51 Twenty20 matches being one of the most experienced players in the squad. He specializes in the shorter form of the game. He should be batting up in the order. Warner and Watson can generate runs at a rate that should put Australia in a strong position. Aussies batting from one to seven should be:

1. David Warner

2. Shane Watson

3. Usman Khawaja

4. Aaron Finch

5. Glenn Maxwell

6. Chris Lynn

7. George Bailey

NB: Austria’s Test Captain Steve Smith will have no place on this Twenty 20 squad.


India’s squad for the 2016 Twenty 20 World Cup are as follows: MS. Dhoni (Captain), Shikhar Dhawas, Rohit Sharna, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Ravindra Jadega, Ravi Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Ajink Yarahane, Harbhajan Singh, Mohammad Shami, Pawan Negi and Hardik Pandya.


Undoubtedly, India’s bowling is with their spin attack by Ravi Ashwin, Yuvraj Singh and Ravindra Jadega. Mohammad Shami, Ashish Nehra and the young Jasprit Bumrah, 22 years, are the seamers. India’s Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has an array of bowlers to turn around. Suresh Raina should not bowl but given the opportunity to concentrate on his batting. India’s batting is super strong and can match any team in the competition.


Darren Sammy (Captain), Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons and Jerome Taylor.

NB: West Indies batting seems strong on paper but their bowling is very weak. The ICC World Twenty 20 starts March 8 and ends April 3.

More from Around NYC