Five West Indies players named in ICC Teams-of-the Decade

West Indies v South Africa – ICC Champions Trophy 2013 Group B
West Indies’ Kieron Pollard celebrates after bowling the delivery in which Darren Bravo (not pictured) caught South Africa’s Colin Ingram (not pictured).
Action Images / Peter Cziborra, File

West Indies players, current Twenty20 Captain, Kieron Pollard and former captain, Chris Gayle have been named in the International Cricket Council (ICC) men’s T20 International Teams–of- the-Decade.

In awards announced by the sport’s world governing body, West Indies Women captain, Stafanie Taylor, along with dynamic all-rounder, Deandra Dottin, were also included in the ICC Women’s T20I Team-of-the-Decade.

West Indies’ Stafanie Taylor in action against Pakistan during the Women’s Cricket World Cup in Leicester, Britain, July 11, 2017. Action Images via Reuters / Jason Cairnduff, file

Taylor has also been named in the Women’s ODI Team-of-the-Decade, along with off-spinner and former vice-captain Anisa Mohammed.

However, no West Indies player was included in the Test Team-of-the-Decade.

Meanwhile, the ICC Cricketer-of-the-Decade award-aptly named after former West Indies captain and Barbados National Hero, Sir Garfield Sobers was taken by Indian batting star and Captain Virat Kholi.

More from Around NYC