Andre Russell
Andre Russell bowls during a practice session in Gros Islet, St. Lucia, West Indies.
Associated Press / Andres Leighton, file

The Jamaica Tallawahs has announced the team is retaining only four Caribbean players for the 2020 Heron Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

The Tallawahs, which was recently embroiled in a public spat with former star Chris Gayle, has retained Andre Russell, Rovman Powell, Oshane Thomas and Chadwick Walton — all Jamaicans.

West Indies’ Rovman Powell looks dejected after losing his wicket against England.    Action Images via Reuters / Jason Cairnduff, File

Jefferson Miller, CEO of the Tallawahs said the Tallawahs organization will be seeking to rebuild in 2020.

“We are extremely excited to have Andre Russell back for another year. Andre was recently named as the leading T20 cricketers in the world by the 2020 edition of Wisden Cricketers’ Almanac. We are delighted to retain Oshane Thomas and Rovman Powell, both rising stars in the West Indies and world cricket” he said.

He said Chadwick Walton brings a wealth of leadership experience to the team and has been a dominant player over the years in the CPL.

International retentions and signings will be announced at a later date.

Miller said this year teams can retain as many players from their 2019 squads as they wish but they could also transfer players to other teams and sign emerging players.

The CPL is scheduled to take place between Aug. 19 and Sept. 26 but the tournament organizers are currently monitoring the current situation with COVID-19 closely and are liaising with medical advisers and governments.

A decision on whether the tournament can proceed as planned or at a different time will be made as soon as possible.