TKR retains retired WI trio

Former West Indies’ Captain Dwayne Bravo.
Associated Press / Aijaz Rahi, File

Four-time champions, Trinbago Knight Riders, confirmed they have retained 12 players from their squad last year including West Indies retirees, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, and Dwayne Bravo.

Antigua & Barbuda Falcons have confirmed the same number for this year’s Caribbean Premier League (CPL) Twenty20 tournament.

In all, the Knight Riders have confirmed 15 players and will fill their two emerging player spots in the player draft in July.

Core Caribbean players that took TKR to the final against the champions Guyana Amazon Warriors last year led by the West Indies T20 World Cup trio of left-handed wicketkeeper-batsman Nicholas Pooran, all-rounder Andre Russell, and left-arm spinner Akeal Hosein.

The Knight Riders have three newcomers to their franchise, batsman Tim David, a member of the Australia team, left-arm pacer Josh Little, a member of the Ireland team, both representing their teams at the T20 World Cup, and English opener Jason Roy.

In all, the Falcons have confirmed 12 players for the coming season and will have five spots to fill during the player draft.

The Falcons team consists of nine players from the decommissioned Jamaica Tallawahs, including Imad Wasim and Mohammad Amir, two members of the Pakistan squad playing in the current ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Also, West Indies T20 World Cup batsman Brandon King, and reserves Fabian Allen and Hayden Walsh Jr. are among the Caribbean players retained from the Tallawahs, along with Australian Chris Green.

Others in Falcons line-up include Pakistan’s left-hander Fakhar Zaman, Afghan’s all-rounder Azmatullah Omarzai, and Leeward Islands Hurricanes’ Jewel Andrew.

The CPL T20 tournament runs from Aug. 29 to Oct.6.