WI Women bowl off W/Cup campaign against New Zealand

Third Women’s One Day International – England v West Indies
West Indies celebrate the wicket of England’s Amy Jones.
Action Images via Reuters/John Sibley/File

West Indies women will play hosts to New Zealand in the opening match of the 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, according to the full updated fixture released last week.

The two sides will kick off the tournament on March 4 at the Bay Oval in Tauranga.

A total of 31 games will be played across 31 days, with eight teams vying for the coveted World Cup trophy.

Australia, England, South Africa and India have qualified for the event on the basis of their position in ICC Women’s Championship 2017-2020 while New Zealand automatically qualify as they are the hosts.

On the basis of the ODI Team Rankings, Bangladesh, Pakistan and the West Indies were the final three teams to book their berth for the World Cup after 2021 the Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifiers were called off following the emergence of the Omicron variant of the Covid-19 virus in South Africa.

More from Around NYC