Women’s Twenty20 finals in Antigua

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that the Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua will be the venue for the final of the Women’s Twenty20 World Cup later this year.

The venue is just one of three being used, with the Guyana National Stadium and the Darren Sammy Cricket Ground in St. Lucia, selected to host the preliminary rounds.

West Indies women are the reigning Twenty20 champions.

In addition, the venue, named after the iconic former West Indies captain and batting star, will also stage the semi-finals of the Nov. 9-24 tournament.

Three venues were selected by Cricket West Indies (CWI) through a bidding process late last year, which followed a 12-day inspection tour by an ICC team of 11 venues last October.

Kensington Oval in Barbados, which hosted the 2010 Twenty20 World Cup finals, will miss out his time around after the failure of the Barbados Cricket Association to present a bid.

Trinidad and Tobago also did not submit a bid, leaving the historic Queen’s Park Oval and the newly constructed Brian Lara Stadium without matches.

West Indies Women will defend the title they won two years ago in India when they beat heavyweight Australia Women by eight wickets in the final in Kolkata.

More from Around NYC