CPL Twenty20 set for Miami

CPL Twenty20 set for Miami
Bollywood superstar and Trinbago Knight Riders co-owner Shah Rukh Khan.
Associated Press / Rafiq Maqbool

The fourth edition of the Caribbean Premier league (CPL) Twenty20 competition is set to start on June 29, with the Miami, Florida leg to be played from July 28-29 at the Central Broward Stadium in Fort Lauderdale.

A series of high profile match-ups will headline the Florida leg, Barbados Tridents, the 2014 champions, will clash with Guyana Amazon Warriors in the opening game, in a repeat of the final from two seasons.

Reigning champions Trinbago Knight Riders will take on St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots the following day with the July 30-31 weekend featuring exciting doubleheaders on both days.

United States opener Steven Taylor, who played for the Tridents last year, said he expects fans from across the United States to flock to Fort Lauderdale for the four days of cricket.

More from Around NYC