Selectors name Windies squad

West Indies’ bowler Jason Holder.
Associated Press / Arnulfo Franco

The West Indies selectors have named an unchanged West Indies squad to Zimbabwe for a two-Test series that begins later this month.

The 16-member squad which will be led by Captain Jason Holder recently performed encouragingly in England, losing the Test series 2-1 but pulled off their first win in the host country in 17 years in the second Test at Headingley.

Chairman of the selectors Courtney Browne said the selection panel has agreed to send the same Test squad that toured England to visit Zimbabwe.

“The dedication, commitment and focus in their preparation and during the series in England showed immense character for such a young team in very difficult conditions against World-class competition,” he said.

Prior two the two Tests against Zimbabwe West Indies will play a three-day tour match against Zimbabwe A starting on Oct. 15.

The first Test begins on Oct. 21 and the second Test from Oct. 29 – Nov.2 at the Queen’s Sports Club in Bulawayo.

Squad: Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite (vice captain), Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Kieran Powell, Raymon Reifer and Kemar Roach.

West Indies selector Courtney Browne.
Association Press / Andres Leighton, File

More from Around NYC